Gotta Know When to Fold’em…

So I had started a new short story; liked the premise, liked the character I had in mind, but I hate what I’ve written so far. It’s five pages of nothing at all happening. Nothing. I’ve decided to start over.

I remember reading somewhere that many novelists get part way into a first draft and suddenly discover that the true beginning of their novel is several chapters in. That in some instances the first several chapters is filled with  exposition and background that doesn’t move the story forward. Sometimes it gets cut completely and sometimes it gets included elsewhere in the narrative.

I think the story can still be something really good, it just needs a fresh start. I’ll keep what I’ve already written for notes, but I need to throw in my metaphorical cards and get a new hand.

0 Responses to “Gotta Know When to Fold’em…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


