Frank Frazetta… RIP

Earlier this week Frank Frazetta passed away. For those of you who don’t know who he was he was, well, he was an amazing artist best known for his fantasy and science fiction paintings.

Mr. Frazetta has a special place in my heart though I never met the man. Before I decided to pursue writing I wanted to be an artist. I even enrolled as an art major and was heading in that direction for two years before switching to English and writing. Frank Frazetta was one of my inspirations to become an artist.

I grew up reading Robert E. Howard’s stories of Conan the Barbarian, as well as the novels of that character written by others such as, L. Sprague de Camp, Robert Jordan and others. Many of those books, as well as the EPIC Illustrated comics of Conan, had covers illustrated by Frank Frazetta. He had a way of establishing a mood in his paintings that none of the other painters of similar subject matter can capture. For all intents and purpose, he defined what we all see when we think of Conan.

I can remember trying to emulate many of his paintings, using the covers of comics and novels with his images as models for my drawing.

I hope that Crom recognizes him for his courage and tenacity.

Rest in peace.

0 Responses to “Frank Frazetta… RIP”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


