It’s a Harry Potter Christmas!

For the first time in a long, long while my wife and I won’t be traveling for the holidays. In the past we’ve gone to visit our families in one state or another, but this year due to various circumstances (not enough available time off, work commitments, etc.) we’re staying home. This is both a disappointment and a relief.

The original plan was this year was to visit my in-laws for the holidays. I like my in-laws. They know how to have a good time, if you catch my drift (Well, let’s put it this way, my wife’s step-father, who hails from Poland originally, makes a delightful little concoction called Krupnik, made from grain alcohol, honey and a honey liqueur. Trust me, it will woo you with its sweet honey and clover flavor and then punish you with its 120 proof (my estimate) burn.). So, needless to say, it will be disappointment not seeing them.

On the other hand, traveling, either by car or plane, is a hassle. It doesn’t matter which we choose. The entire process takes about nine hours one way so not traveling is a relief.

So, with Christmas being a family holiday and us not having any family here in California and all of our friends spending time with their families we decided to make the best of it. My wife learned that the final Harry Potter movie , The Deathly Hallows Part II, comes out this spring and Part I is in theaters now. We’ve never seen or read a Harry Potter movie or novel and knowing that the last of them is coming out my wife wants to see them.

I went out and got the Blu-ray versions of the six previous movies, we’re going to start tonight and watch a couple between now and Sunday and then go see The Deathly Hallows Part I before it’s gone from theaters.

It’s actually quite odd. I feel like I know everything about this series because it’s been this part of the cultural zeitgeist for so long now, but at the same time I know nothing. And to be frank, I wasn’t all that interested in either reading the series or seeing the movies before but once my wife suggested it I was like: Yes, that. It just seemed like a fun way to spend the holiday with nothing much else to do. A weekend of care free, mindless, fantastical fun.

So, while you’re dealing with your crazy Aunt Zelda this weekend, I’ll be relaxing at home with good food, my awesome wife, some wine and Harry Potter. Sounds like a magical Christmas to me.

0 Responses to “It’s a Harry Potter Christmas!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


